Best Ways ‌to‌ ‌Delete‌ ‌Snapchat Account in 2021

Snapchat is one of the most famous social media applications. It is available across many platforms. It has millions of users. It is downloaded by numerous people each day. It has many features of what sets it apart from other social media applications. You can take a few selfies from it, add filters to your pictures, and update your friends about what is going on in your life through pictures. There are frequent updates which enable it to provide quality content in real-time. It even has songs that you can sing along and groove to.

Why a Need to Deactivate a Snapchat Account?

No matter how great an application is some people will still be adamant about removing it. You might be one of those people who want to get rid of their accounts. There might be many reasons why you might want to delete your Snapchat account. Some of these reasons are listed below.

  1. People can screenshot your pictures. They can even screen record your entire videos which can be a huge concern for you.
  2. You can find the constant updates and posting pictures to be very annoying.
  3. It can be a very huge distraction. Instead of enjoying things in real life, it can make you doze off into a parallel universe.
  4. You could have found the joke about domestic violence very inappropriate. It was very insensitive.
  5. It has found to promote self-images. This is something not everyone is fond of.
  6. Major security concerns can also put you off from Snapchat for good.

Regardless of the reason behind your decision to delete this app, one thing is for sure. It is the fact that deleting this app is very convenient and easy to do so. It can be done by anyone at any time. It only takes a couple of minutes to do so. After these few minutes, your account will be deactivated once and for all.



Rise in users wanting to Deactivate their Snapchat Accounts

All was revealed on 24th May 2019. The day holds a very special significance. The truth and reality of Snapchat came out of the world. People got to know about SnapLion. It is an internal application present with Snapchat. It is an internal tool intended to spy on users. It was revealed by Snapchat's former employees. They informed the people that users' data have been abused. Snapchat has access to all your personal information. It even has the data that includes your phone number, your email address, your photos, and your videos. It even has access to your location. It basically has access to all highly sensitive data.

Not that only did it gather and store your data but it also transmitted it. This data was shared with many different companies. Snapchat forcefully gathered all this data. It did not only access the data once but it did it on multiple occasions. After this information was leaked out to the public, many users deactivated their accounts. They did not feel safe with having Snapchat on the phone. Not only this but they also discouraged other people from downloading and using Snapchat. Hence, one major incident that led to many people looking for ways to deactivate their account.

Things to Do Before Deactivating Your Snapchat Account

Before you deactivate your account, it is very important that you follow a few steps before. It is very important that you download your information from its server. This information can include several things. This will be of high value to you. Data can include your pictures, videos, log-in history, location history, etc. It will also include things like your searches about your friends and specific items.

The steps to do so are mentioned below.

Step 1: Launch your browser.

Step 2: Go to the search bar. Type in Snapchat's official web address.

Step 3: Enter your username and password to log in.

Things to Do Before Deactivating Your Snapchat Account
Things to Do Before Deactivating Your Snapchat Account

Step 4: You will be able to see lots of options that will be about managing your account. You need to click on "MY DATA"

Things to Do Before Deactivating Your Snapchat Account
Things to Do Before Deactivating Your Snapchat Account

Step 5: Hit "Submit My Request" to move further.

Step 6: You will then be contacted by Snapchat's team. They will send you a link through email.

Step 7: Click on the link sent to you. You will be able to download all your data through that.

Note: Once you click on the link sent to you via email, a pop-up message will appear. It will say something along the lines that you will have to wait for a few seconds for Snapchat to reach your account. It will reach your account, extract the data, and then proceed to deactivate it.

How to Deactivate / Remove your Snapchat Account

No matter how widely used and much loved an app is, there will always be people who don't like it. They will want to deactivate it. If you are one of those people who did not succumb to the hype and wish you deactivate it as soon as possible, then read below.



There are two different ways to do it. Both methods are covered. Follow the steps to deactivate it.

Delete from a Desktop Browser

Step 1: Firstly, enter this URL.

Step 2: Enter your username and password to log in and access your account.

Step 3: You will be able to see lots of options that will be about managing your account. You need to click on "DELETE MY ACCOUNT".

Delete from a Desktop Browser
Delete from a Desktop Browser

Step 4: Now, Snapchat will ask you to enter your login credentials again. This is one way to ensure you really want to deactivate your account.

Delete from a Desktop Browser
Delete from a Desktop Browser

Step 5: Hit the "Continue" button. This will deactivate your account.

Your account will now be deactivated for 30 days. If you log in before that, your account and details will be restored. During this period, your friends will not be able to see or view your profile. However, if you do not log in for 30 days, your account will be removed on a permanent basis.

If you are still unsure after this waiting period, if your account is actually removed then you don't need to worry. Snapchat will send you a confirmation email that will specify your account being deactivated and you no longer being a user.

Through Application

Switching on your PC to specifically deactivate your account can be a bit of a hassle. Many people find it easier to deactivate their account through the application. Accessing the application is very convenient for most people. It can be done on both Android and IOS devices. If you are one of those people then this method is for you.

It is very easy to do so. All you have to do is, follow the steps mentioned below.

Step 1 : Open the application on your device.

Step 2: Enter your login details to access your account.

Step 3: Look at the top left corner. You will see your avatar or Bitmoji. Click on that.

Step 4: Look at the top right corner. You will spot a gear icon. Click on that gear icon.

Step 5: Look for the "Support" tab.

Step 6: Next, click on the "Help Centre" button.

Step 7: Now locate "My Account and Security".

Step 8: Go on "Account Information".

Step 9: Now, click on "Delete My Account".

Step 10: Now, Snapchat will ask you to enter your login credentials again. This is one way to ensure you really want to deactivate your account.

Step 11: Hit the "Continue" button. This will deactivate your account.

Your account will now be deactivated for 30 days. If you log in before that, your account and details will be restored. You need to log in back with the same username and password. During this period, your friends will not be able to see or view your profile. However, if you do not log in for 30 days, your account will be removed on a permanent basis.

If you are unable to access your account within the 30 days, then give it some time. There is no need to panic as sometimes it can take a couple of hours to get your account back. It does not mean that it is not there anymore.

If you are still unsure after this waiting period, if your account is actually removed then you don't need to worry. Snapchat will send you a confirmation email that will specify your account being deactivated and you no longer being a user.



Permanently delete your account

As mentioned above, all you have to do is not login to your account for 30 days straight. This way your account will be permanently deactivated.

However, one thing is to be noted. It does not remove any account completely. I know this might come as a shock to you but this mentioned in their privacy guidelines that you agree to before creating your account. It keeps your data and some very important information. The purpose of storing that information is listed below.

  • Legal policies
  • Security reasons
  • Business requirements

Overall, Snapchat is that application that is easy to delete. It can be done in two ways and both of these ways are very convenient.

Thoughts on "Best Ways ‌to‌ ‌Delete‌ ‌Snapchat Account in 2021"